June/July Goal Wrap Up

It’s August 2nd, which means my last round of bi-monthly goals is officially at an end. So, how did we do?

But first, a writing check in. I’ve been kind of mulling over the structure of my book, yet again, and this morning I spent 40 minutes reorganizing it again. I have no idea if this is the final restructure. I thought the last one was the final restructure, and yet here I am, having restructured it once more. I also decided that I need to write even more chapters, so that’s where we’re at. Moving on.

Let’s talk about my goals for June and July.

My first two goals were to finish my book and win Camp NaNo in the process. While I didn’t do either of those, I have made a LOT of headway on my book. I had quite the crisis in June, which I worked through in July, and now I continue to polish it as I write. So what does all that mean for my goal?

On the one hand, I didn’t meet it. On the other, my failure to finish my book led me to the conclusion that I shouldn’t be worried about when I’m going to finish. I shouldn’t be pressuring myself to stick to deadlines. This is my first book and I have a lot of things to figure out about the way I write. For example, I found out the hard way that I need to outline before I start writing, or I’ll go way off the rails. I’ve also discovered that my outline will change as I write, meaning a lot of reworking before the first draft is even finished. I need to give myself time to learn how to write a novel, work on it every day, and let it happen as it will.

So no more deadline goals for the book. I never meet them, they don’t work for me, and I need to stop being so hard on myself for taking my time on this project.

My third goal was to finish 4 books during June and July. I’m happy to say that I did complete this goal! I read:

  • Writer With a Day Job by Aine Greaney
  • The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss
  • Invisible Ink by Brian McDonald
  • Bird by Bird by Anne Lamott

You may notice that my list is a bit heavy on the “books on writing” genre. In the next few months I’m going to try to fit in more fiction instead.

My fourth goal was to keep a thriving garden. I think I can safely say our garden is flourishing, with the exception of my zucchini plants which are currently dying to a vine borer infestation. Vine borers are hard to prevent and impossible to treat, so I’m not going to fault myself on that one. If you want to check in on the garden, head over to Homegrown Vegan.

My fifth goal was to finish knitting two hats for Christmas. I did not finish knitting two hats for Christmas. I am working on them, but not at the rate I was hoping.

My sixth goal was to post a blog 5 days a week, 3 a week on Paper Cats and 2 a week on Homegrown Vegan. I was able to do this, for the most part, barring all the health issues I was dealing with during July. I’m giving myself credit for this one.

My last goal was to take good care of myself. I think I was able to do that. I have felt calmer, happier, and more productive, with the exception, of course, being my illness in July. I did yoga with cats, and goats, and I spent time with friends and family. It’s been a great 2 months!

On Friday we will talk about my next round of goals, so stay tuned!

 

IMG_20170731_222718
Triscuit is a great knitting assistant

 

2 thoughts on “June/July Goal Wrap Up

Leave a Reply

