Writer With a Day Job by Aine Greaney

I’m a writer, as you know. I also have a day job, which you also know. So this book seemed like a good way to spend a bit of time. I checked it out from the library, no surprise there, and I thought it was pretty interesting so I figured I’d talk about it.

Lately, I’ve been really loving books about writing. I have a few on my to-read list to supplement the work I’m doing with my current novel. I don’t know if any of them have helped yet or not, but I like feeling like I’m doing some sort of professional development. That’s silly, but whatever works.

51ZAVKONb8L._SX332_BO1,204,203,200_So this book, as you can imagine, is a book for writers with day jobs. It can be extremely difficult to balance writing and a full-time job. You get up, work all day, then come home tired, ready to melt into the couch and watch reruns of Project Runway. Yes, that’s what I do, but I knit too so it’s okay. Most of her book is about staying motivated when you come home tired or if you’ve had a really crazy week. Don’t feel like writing? 5 minutes. Can’t give it 5 minutes? Then revisit your book in your mind.

Greaney is also a published author with a day job, so she knows how hard it is to juggle everything. Writing is an incredibly time consuming and lonely hobby, so a lot of the time if you want to get your writing done you either sacrifice time you’d spend with family and friends or give up your hobbies. But she has answers to that too. Thinking about your book during your commute, sneaking away on your lunch break, and keeping printouts of your chapters for revision when you’re at appointments are all great ways to sneak in whatever writing time you can according to Greaney.

While not all of her suggestions really work for me (for example, I don’t have a commute), they did inspire me to come up with my own solutions. I schedule a few 10-minute word sprints throughout the day. I also take my writing out of the office, working in a small journal, because I hate being in the office after I get off.

Another thing that I love about this book is that it makes me, the writer with a day job, feel like I’m not alone. She discusses this weird writer idea that people have in their heads, of writers who sit in their lofty libraries and work on their tomes all day. I kind of had this same ridiculous idea too, that my novel somehow wouldn’t be as good because I couldn’t dedicate that much time to it, but most writers also have day jobs. If they can write a successful novel by balancing work, social, and writing, then I can too.

 

IMG_20170619_204433
Tetra enjoys helping me write by attacking my journal bookmark string 

 

Leave a Reply

