I’m Back! With More Goals!

Hi friends! First, thank you all so much for giving me some time off from blogging. I mentioned last week that I was having some health issues. Unfortunately, my eye is giving me a lot of problems which were causing headaches and preventing me from seeing very well. I’m still not 100% but I think I can write up a lil diddy for you today.

 While I was away I did as much reading and writing as I could with basically one eye. In that time I discovered a local literary magazine which inspired a litany of new writing goals for the next year, so I figured I share in order to make myself more accountable for the things I want to do. So here are my goals for the next year, ending in July of 2018.

  1. I want to finish my book completely. First draft, revisions, all of it. I want it to be ready to send to publishers by next summer. I think the terrifying task of sending manuscripts will happen in the fall so I’m just going to focus on making it the best first novel I can.
  2. Second, I want to submit two works, whether they be short stories or poems, to the local literary magazine. I might send up sending a few things to other literary magazines but I’m going to play that by ear. I don’t expect to be published in the next year because I know it can take a long time to hear back, but I want the submissions under my belt.
  3. I want to begin working on my next novel. I think it will be a lot to juggle having revisions and writing something new happening at once but I want to start working on the next one. I don’t know if I’ll necessarily be writing it, but I want to be researching and thinking about characters and plots and what have you.

That’s it for now! Thanks for reading!

 

IMG_20170617_214329 (1)
Tetra loves smelling things 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

