Books and TV

Hi everyone! I hope you all had a great weekend. I had a lot of time to get some work done and catch up on some things, which prompted this blog.

I think it’s natural to take a great book and recreate it visually. I know we’ve all read a great scene in a novel or short story and thought wow, that would make incredible TV. I personally love seeing my favorite books come to life, and lately more and more of them are becoming great shows.

Of course, there are some books I haven’t read that have become TV shows. A few of them, like Gossip Girl (I love this show!) and The Leftovers (love this one too!) are on my to read list. Others, like Friday Night Lights, The 100, Outlander, etc. are extremely popular as well. I wanted to kind of go through some of the books turned TV shows that I’ve loved.

Game of Thrones

You probably knew where this blog was heading. Game of Thrones is without a doubt one of the most popular shows of the last few years. It seems like everyone I know is addicted, which is hilarious because no one had even heard of the book series before hand. I remember when I worked at Borders, the first book was a face out (with the cover facing out, if you can believe that one) and I would walk by it every time I left the break room. Eventually, the rearing red lion became too much for me to ignore any longer, so I picked it up. I read the synopsis. It sounded pretty good, so I bought it and read it. Then I bought the rest and read those too.

I have to say though, in spite of reading the whole series (as of yet), I’m actually really not that much of a fan of the books themselves. I know I’ve said this already, but Martin is in serious need of a merciless editor. He has a really hard time killing his babies, and they need killing. I don’t mean his characters obviously, I mean the words, sentences, and scenes that bloat the series. They need to die. Sorry.

The SHOW, however, is a real masterpiece. The casting is incredible. The writing is top notch. They know how to take a scene from the books and really elevate it for their audience. The series is so much better than the book that I am basically done with the books. I don’t know if I’ll read the last two. They may not ever come out, and I’m alright with it.

Madeline

This is a total 180, but a favorite of mine since childhood. I love every Madeline book I’ve ever read, and the series is so incredibly delightful. I still watch it when it’s on and I’m in my late 20s. I thought I would have a lot more to say about this one but I don’t. The books are delightful and so is the TV show. That’s just it.

American Gods

This is the reason for this whole blog. American Gods is one of my favorite books written by one of my favorite authors. My senior English teacher handed this book to me one fateful day and 17 year old me could not even wrap her head around it. I’ve recommended it to so many fellow book lovers.

So when I heard it was going to be a series, I was beyond excited. And last night we finally watched the first episode. So yea, I’m not that far into it and my opinions may change, but so far I’m still liking it for the most part. I think there are kinks that need to be worked out and I feel like the pacing is a little weird sometimes, but I’m still really excited to see what the series has to offer.

What are your favorite books turned TV shows?

 

IMG_20170610_114417
These kittens at a local rescue like the one where they get adopted into furever homes 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

