How We Got Here

Hello everyone! I just wanted to take some time today to tell you how we got here. Where is here? Here is this blog. A lot of things had to happen to bring me to create this blog, stringing together words every week for your hungry eyes. So let’s start from the beginning.

When I was a little girl, I loved to read. I had a pile of books on my bed, and there they slept every night, tucked in beside me. I would pick a book to read every night, then fall asleep when I was finished. My grandma would take me to the library every day after school to read more books, and when I was old enough my mom and I started reading chapter books together. There’s one book we read together and I remember the cover and a little bit of the story. I really want to go back and read it. It was about a wolf girl or something. That sounds like an amazon adventure for later.

My love of books continued into my grade school years. I remember when I was in 1st grade I got into a bit of trouble. My teacher had a book wall and after you were finished working you could go read a book, so I would just fill in random numbers on my math assignments so I could go read. I even did the same thing in middle school.

When I got into high school, I was still an avid reader. My favorite place in the world was Borders. I was always there with my other book loving friends, finding new things to read. Harry Potter was, of course, a huge deal when I was in high school so we made it to all the release parties, walking around like zombies for several days after because we stayed up every night trying to finish the book as soon as possible.

Then, when I got into senior English, I had the absolute coolest teacher. He was so encouraging to me, and he loved giving me suggestions for books. It was like throwing jet fuel into a burning fire. I couldn’t get enough of the stuff he gave me, which was so different than what I’d been reading before.

When I got into college, my dream was to become a neurosurgeon. I have a lot of neurological problems, which is unfortunate, but I wanted to learn more about my conditions and help people going through the same issues. Of course, I wasn’t anticipating the kind of science classes I’d be in as a freshman in college, and the weed out chemistry class was successful. In fact, I was so miserable with my courses I almost failed out of college completely, only passing my English class. After suffering through my first semester, I decided that I needed to do what I loved, so I switched my major to Literature.

Go ahead. I know what you’re thinking. You’ll never get a job. Have fun working at Starbucks. I’ve heard it all, and I’ll tell you that I do not regret my decision. Could I be making more in a different field? Absolutely. But you know, happiness is more important to me than money. I would never trade what I learned for a higher salary. My college experience made me the writer I am, and I think I’m a damn good writer.

After I graduated, I got a job as an editor for a market research company, which was miserable. I started freelancing and eventually landed my current job, which is not writing but I still work with writers in marketing.

The most important thing really is that I’ve never stopped reading and writing. It’s all I want to do. So I started this blog. Not because I want to make a lot of money or become some sort of influencer in the book world, because I don’t see that happening. I started Paper Cats so I could read books and write and maybe someone would read my opinions. If not, fine. This is not for you. This is for me. But please, come along for the ride.

I want to hear how you guys came to be here too. Why did you start your blog?

IMG_20170607_000526
Tetra doesn’t blog, but he does enjoy texting his side hos

 

Leave a Reply

