The KonMari Method

I have anxiety. Really bad, crippling, life controlling anxiety.

Okay, not like all the time. I’ve been working really hard to control it and it’s getting better all the time. Now there are days when I don’t worry about anything, but I still have bad days. You know, the kind where everything I love is going to disappear and everyone I love is going to die. And no I’m not exaggerating.

These are the things I’ve been working on for years. Life events had me in a bad place years ago, and now that my life is returning to relative normalcy I can focus on getting better. Meditation, working meditation, gardening, and other relaxing hobbies coupled with working to change my mindset and thought patterns have help me immensely in controlling my anxiety.

61nBw77qi6L._SL375_All that to say, one of the ways I’ve been healing my anxiety is by decluttering my space and moving toward a more minimalistic lifestyle. I think a lot of people feel a sort of anxiety when they’re in an enclosed or cluttered space. If I feel like I can’t move or find things, it can become pretty upsetting. I didn’t really know how to start decluttering, but when I heard Kimberly Clark (hey girl!) talking about using the KonMari method, I decided to see what it was about.

The KonMari method is outlined in The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up by Marie Kondo. I’m going to try to explain the method without giving too much away, because I believe anyone interested in tidying up and simplifying their life should read it for themselves.

The whole principle behind the KonMari method is to surround yourself only with items that bring you joy. If something doesn’t make you happy, then you need to dispose of it. That’s it. That’s all there is to it. You go through your belongings, category by category, holding each and every item you own in your hand, deciding whether or not it brings you joy.

This may sound a little scary, and maybe it is. That’s why Kondo has you start with easier categories first, like clothes and books. Eventually, you will work your way to the hardest items, like memorabilia, keepsakes, and photos.

It’s important to note that this method isn’t about numbers. You do not have to whittle  your  book collection down to X number of books or whatever percentage of what you had when you started. You simply keep whatever number of books makes you happy. If that’s 100 books, great. If it’s 1,000, fantastic. No one’s “number” will be the same. It’s all about what brings you joy.

So far we’ve only started with our clothes, and let me tell you… opening our closet now that 3/4 of our closet space is now open. I kept all the clothes that made me happy, and not only can I now find things when I want to wear them, but I am also not troubled by trying to find a reason to wear clothes that I don’t actually like that much. I’ve already started on my book collection, but that’s going to take me quite a while.

Have any of you tried the KonMari method? Let me know!

IMG_20170512_181838
Tetra smells a flowler
Leave a Reply

