What’s in My To Read Pile?

To read piles are a fluid, ever changing thing. New, exciting books come out, pushing the books you’ve been meaning to read for ages farther and farther down the list. I’ve made a point this March to get a good mix of books I’ve had forever and need to read, books I’ve borrowed from the library, fiction and nonfiction, different types of writers (different nationalities, women, etc), and world literature rather than sticking with the my go-to American/UK types.

I also try to keep my to read list down to 5 books, rather than having so many that I don’t know what to read next. This also helps me keep to my reads and not add more as I see them mentioned on other blogs, booktube, Amazon, etc.

Without further ado, let’s get into the books! These are in reading order.

Furiously Happy by Jenny Lawson

furiously-happyThis book is nonfiction (variety is the spice of life!) and it’s described as a hysterical, ridiculous book about crippling depression and anxiety. As someone suffering from absolutely all encompassing anxiety, I am interested in seeing what Lawson has to say on the subject and I’m interested in a more tongue in cheek narrative on anxiety.

d0d32e0a-71c9-4d34-8bcf-5e4c63bce8e4Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe

This is a really controversial book for me. I have heard so many people rave about it, and so many others hated it. I want to see what the hype is all about. I picked up this book at a thrift store last year.  The story takes place in a small village in Nigeria. It looks like it’s split into two stories about the same character, Okonkwo (whew, that’s a challenging name). The first story is a tale about the tribe he’s from, and tackles the issue of the individual vs. society. The second takes place in a more modern setting. I think it should be an interesting dichotomy between the ancient and modern.

The Hero With a Thousand Faces by Joseph Campbell

9781577315933_500X500This is one of those books that’s been on my to read list for entirely too long. As you may remember, I have a degree in literature. I took more than my share of classes on archetypes, and I have a pretty good grasp on the literary canon as a whole. There are a few absolute must reads if you want to be able to recognize common themes (there’s a word for this that I can’t for the life of me remember) across an author’s work or a period in literary history. The Bible, of course, is a big one. Other religious texts are also helpful. Then, The Hero With a Thousand Faces. This book looks at the biggest archetypes like the hero’s journey. Campbell describes his work as “the projection of a culture’s dreams onto a large screen.” I am VERY interested in seeing what he has to say. Plus, my father-in-law got it for me for Christmas last year and I already feel bad that I haven’t read it yet.

A Thousand Splendid Suns by Khaled Hosseini

A_Thousand_Splendid_SunsStory time. When I was a freshman in college, the university was testing a new “one reads” project, where every freshman English class would all read the same book. They then had speakers and events to supplement our reading to help us go deeper into the work than just reading it, discussing it, and then writing an essay. That book was Hosseini’s The Kite Runner. I thought it was a great book, and I loved all the events the university had going on while we read it. Unfortunately, I haven’t found the time to read any of his other books. This has been on my literal to read shelf for far too long, and it’s high time I pick it up and read it. I’m sure I will enjoy it!

The Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss

wisemansfearIf you didn’t see this coming, where have you been? If you’ve read any of my latest blogs, you know how much I absolutely adored the first book in this series. I have a book hangover from the last one, and I just can’t wait too long to read the second. I am going to try to breeze through the rest of my to read pile so I can get to this one.

 

 

Welp, that’s it. Those are my next 5 books. Of course, I’ll be back with some nice, in depth reviews for you guys. I also just finished reading The Circle by Dave Eggers, and there are a few books from earlier this year I will get to reviewing in May.

 

Now, a cat: Blepping Tetra 

 

 

tetrablep

3 thoughts on “What’s in My To Read Pile?

  1. I also have a to-read book list; I have several, in fact; they’re called “categories” on my Kindle! 🙂 Whenever I’m in the mood for something new, I go to my category of mood and pick a book I haven’t read yet. It keeps me from cluttering my library with one-time reads, and if I really like a book, it will end up joining my 1200+ other books on our library shelves!

    Like

Leave a Reply

